Allowing a Person Without a Valid License to Operate a Motor Vehicle
Massachusetts License Attorney
Boston RMV Lawyer
It is now a criminal offense to allow a person without a valid license to operate a motor vehicle without a valid license. This charge usually arises when a friend or family member borrows your car and is either cited, summonsed, or arrested on the charge of operating without a valid driver's license. You may not have had any idea that the person did not carry a valid driver's license, but now you've been dragged into a mess. When contacted by a client immediately, before their first court date, I have been successful at having this charges dropped prior to any formal criminal charges being pressed at all. This has the practical effect of preserving the person's criminal and RMV driving records, and avoiding the penalties that this charge carries; up to $1,000 fine and 1 year in jail. If you've been charged with this offense, DO NOT RELY ON YOUR CO-DEFENDANT'S ATTORNEY TO HELP YOU. If the friend who borrowed your car is also charged with an offense, you have contrasting legal interests! Do not trust an attorney who says that he can handle both of your cases, because one of you will surely be getting the short end of the stick. Contact an attorney who is dedicated to YOUR best interests.
If you've been charged with Allowing a Person Without a Valid License to Operating a Motor Vehicle in Massachusetts, contact my office immediately: