Minor Motor Vehicle/ Traffic Offenses

Massachusetts Traffic Ticket/ Motor Vehicle Charge Lawyer

If you have been arrested or summoned to court for a minor motor vehicle offense in Massachusetts, you may be facing collateral consequences from the Registry of Motor Vehicles in addition to whatever criminal or civil penalties from the court. Your insurance may have lapsed, your license or registration might have expired, or there may have been some other innocent mistake on your part landing you in this unfortunate situation. Don’t panic. I have handled hundreds of these cases, and can almost always get them dismissed without a conviction or an increase to your car insurance. If you are given notice of a clerk’s hearing, I may be able to have your case voided and kept out of the criminal system altogether. If you are facing a minor motor vehicle charge, contact my office for your free legal consultation.

Below, I have outlined some the most common Massachusetts motor vehicle charges and their potential penalties. I have not included the hike in your insurance that each offense may carry, as this varies based on your individual policy and driving history. For the same reasons, I have not included the license loss period & license reinstatement costs each offense would carry. Please contact me for a free consultation regarding your specific license situation.

Driving with a suspended license carries the following potential penalties:

  • Up to $1000 fine and 10 days in jail (first offense)
  • If convicted, 60 days minimum license loss, up to 1 year license loss
  • Up to 1 year in jail (second offense)

Operating an uninsured motor vehicle carries the following potential penalties:

  • Up to $5000 fine and 1 year in jail
  • If convicted, 60 days license loss

Operating a motor vehicle negligently or recklessly (Negligent Operation) carries the following potential penalties:

  • Up to $200 fine and 2 years in jail (first offense)
  • If convicted, 60 days minimum license loss, up to 1 year license loss
  • Up to $1000 fine and 2 ½ years in jail (second offense)

Allowing a person without valid license to operate a motor vehicle carries the following potential penalties:

  • Up to $1000 fine and 1 year in jail (first offense)
  • Up to $1000 fine and 2 ½ years in jail (second offense)

If you have been charged with a Massachusetts Motor Vehicle or Traffic Offense, contact my office for your free initial phone consultation:

Urbelis Law 

98 North Washington St.
Suite 403
Boston, MA 02114
Tel: (617) 830-2188

Ben@urbelislaw.com