Operating an Uninsured Motor Vehicle
Massachusetts License Lawyer
Boston License Attorney
If you have been arrested or summonsed to court on the charge of Operating an Uninsured Motor Vehicle, chances are that you didn't even know your motor vehicle was uninsured. In most cases where my client is charged with this offense, he or she experienced a brief time lapse between the insurance policy and the RMV, or some other technical error. Unfortunately, you can still be charged with this crime, even if the lapse was inadvertent. And a conviction will automatically trigger a 60 day to 1 year license loss from the RMV, and the penalties from the court can be as severe as 10 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. However, depending on your criminal record, driving record, the facts and circumstances surrounding the current charge, and dozens of other factors, I have often been successful at having this charge either dismissed at the first court date, or taken out of the court system to avoid formal charges altogether. This has the practical effect of wiping the charges out before they are even filed. Each case is different, so I encourage you to contact my office for a free initial consultation.
If you've been charges with Operating an Uninsured Motor Vehicle in Massachusetts, or any other criminal offense in Massachusetts, contact my office immediately: