Lawyer Specializing in DUI
Robbery by an Unarmed Person (Unarmed Robbery)
Boston Robbery Lawyer
If you were charged with Robbery by an Unarmed Person in Massachusetts, or Unarmed Robbery, you are facing up to life in prison. In order to be found guilt of Unarmed Robbery, the prosecution must prove that you:
1. Without a weapon,
2. Used force or violence, or by assault and putting in fear,
3. Robbed, Stole, or take from another person
4. Property that may be the subject of larceny.
Unarmed Robbery from a Person Over Sixty: In addition to the elements of robbery, if the person that you are accused of robbing is over 60 years old, you can be charged with this offense, which also carries up to life in prison. While this offense carries the same potential penalty as unarmed robbery, it is often treated as a more serious offense by the district attorney's office, the judge, and possibly the jury. A subsequent offense for unarmed robbery of a person over 60 carries a minimum mandatory sentence of 2 years in state prison.
Defending an unarmed robbery charge can be very complicated and sophisticated work, especially when one is facing the possibility of life in prison. It is important for your attorney to consider all possible defenses, including motions to suppress. A skilled defense attorney can recognize whether a faulty identification procedures led to your arrest, or if certain evidence was obtained illegally. An experienced attorney might also be able to work out a deal in which the charges are amended down to larceny.
If you have been charged with unarmed robbery or any other crime in Massachusetts, contact me for your free initial consultation:
Urbelis Law, LLC
50 Milk St 16th Floor
Boston, MA 02109
Phone: (617) 830-2188