Allowing a Person with IID Restriction to Operate a Motor Vehicle

Massachusetts OUI Lawyer

Boston IID Attorney

In Massachusetts, under MGL c. 90 s. 12, if you either own or have authority or control over a motor vehicle not equipped with the interlock ignition device, and you knowingly allow a person who has an interlock ignition device restricted license to operate that motor vehicle, you are facing the following potential penalties: 
  • 1 year in jail 
  • $500 fine
  • 1 year license loss 
  • 1 year revocation of motor vehicle registration
A second offense for violating this statute carries even more severe penalties:
  • 2 1/2 years in jail
  • $1000 fine
  • 1 year license loss
  • 1 year revocation of motor vehicle registration
One of the most common issues with this case is whether you "knowingly" allowed the person to operate your car. If you did not know that the person's license was IID restricted, then you cannot be found guilty. If you did not know that the person operated your car, or if you did not allow them to operate your car, then you cannot be found guilty. If you are charged with this offense, it is important that you speak to a criminal defense attorney immediately, and not make any statements to law enforcement regarding the allegations. 

If you have been charge with any motor vehicle related offense in Massachusetts, contact our office: 

(617) 830-2188